We Teach

why are hms social justice writing workshops unique?

Hypertext Hypertext Studio's pedagogy – the Story Workshop® Approach of the Teaching of Writing – has been tried and tested for over 50 years.  

Story Workshop’s alternative teaching approach celebrates the diverse voices of every community. This approach, developed by the late writers and professors John Schultz and Betty Shiflett and housed for decades at Columbia College Chicago, closely resembles the writing process and emphasizes the principles of attention, seeing-in-the-mind, and oral telling to help writers discover what they want to tell and how to tell it. It’s a highly flexible approach that can be used to teach seasoned as well as novice writers, old and young.

And since everyone has a story to tell and their own unique language to tell it, Story Workshop® celebrates the writer’s experience as a human being – collecting and mining life experiences and encouraging writers to use vivid language –including dialect. The ideal workshop brings a diverse range of voices and content into the semi-circle, giving permission and challenging students to bring their wealth of experience into the writing.

Our home base is Chicago and we are focused on working with our social service nonprofit partners to empower their clients to tell and write their own stories.



Hypertextmag.com opened its virtual doors in 2010 with the intention of promoting and leveling the publishing playing field for writers living and working in the Midwest (Chicago-focused but not exclusively). While this is still a guiding principal, we now publish writers from all over the United States as well as writers outside our borders.  

We published our first print journal, Hypertext Review, in 2017 and are committed to publishing biannual print journals. To get rolling, we asked contributors and editors to donate their time and work but we are determined to pay creatives for their work. 

These two journals – online and print – help us generate income to partially self-fund workshops for our social service clients. They also give us established platforms to publish social service clients' work.

A part of our mission is to be good literary citizens by helping promote writers' work. Here are a few professional writers and artists you can find in our magazines:

Desiree Cooper, Peter Ferry, Yen Ha, Doro Boehme, Gint Aras, Gail Wallace Bozzano, Garnett Kilberg Cohen, Toni Nealie, Scott Atkinson, Kathleen Quigley, Shoshana Akabas, Anya Silver, Natasha Mijares, Nic Custer, Re'Lynn Hansen, Garin Cycholl, Eileen Favorite, Lasher Lane, John McNally, Marcia Aldrich, Jaimee Wriston Colbert, Richard Hartshorn, Laura Page, Peter Eldritch, Rick George, Ron Burch, Bahiyyih El-Shabbaz, Bud Smith, Alex J. Parton, Donna Miscolta, Amy Dupcak, Ilana Masad, Daniel Lynch, C.K. Flynn, Michael Howard, Brandon Flammang, Peter Kahn, Vann Harris, Michael Seymour Blake, Virginia Bell, Jan Worth-Nelson, Elle Nash, Renée Ashley, Patricia Ann McNair, René Steinke, Christine Sneed, Megan Stielstra, Rebecca Makkai, Peggy Shinner, Jillian Lauren, Jessica Ceballos, Brian Costello, Shawn Shiflett, Don De Grazia, Deb R. Lewis, Eric Charles May, Sheree Greer, Chelsea Laine Wells, Sahar Mustafah, Cyn Vargas, Chris Bohjalian, Samantha Hoffman, Tony Bowers, Darcey Steinke, Garnett Kilberg Cohen,  Angela Fraleigh, Jessie Ann Foley, Doug Shiloh, Wendy C. Ortiz, Joe Meno, Tyler Barton, Wayne McMahon, Kiese Laymon, Brian Alan Ellis, Jessica Peri Chalmers, Nadine Kenney, Ben Tanzer, Zoe Zolbrod, Karen Halvorsen Schreck, Khaulah Naima Nuruddin, J. Bradley, Donna Miscolta, Tiffany Gholar, Suzanne Hyman, Toni Nealie, Michelle Adelman, Emily Gray Tedrowe, Colin Channer, Geoff Hyatt, Mason Johnson, Randy Richardson, Elizabeth Earley, Ken Rodgers, Sherman Finch, Felice House, Suzanne Scanlon, Noelle Aleksandra Hufnagel, Julia Borcherts, Darwyn Jones, Meredith Counts, John Counts, Scott Miles, Lillian Ann Slugocki, Priscilla Briggs, Lex Sonne, Sarah Xerta, Wyl Villacres, Lydia Panas, Kimberly Witham, Guinotte Wise, Corey Mesler, Ilana Masad, Jona Whipple, Chloe Benjamin, Louise Palfreyman, Elizabeth Gaffney, Marcia Brenner, Elizabeth Yokas, Chris Terry, Luis Jaramillo, Eugene Cross, Jim Gavin, Claire Vaye Watkins, Stephanie Kuehnert, Laurie Lawlor, Ira Brooker, Robert Duffer, Changming Yuan, J. Adams Oaks, Mary Beth Hoerner, Richard Chwedyk, April Newman, Tina L. Jens, Mary Michelle Pretorius, and many more.


Support HMS

Support local writers and publishers while supporting our teaching programming.


support HMS

Support local writers and publishers while supporting our teaching programming.



Support local writers and publishers while supporting our teaching programming.